From the Garden to your Home

Hi there!

What a beautiful, summer day we are having here in West Michigan. The humidity finally broke and it is absolutely gorgeous out! Hope you’ve all been able to enjoy a little time outside. As you have noticed… your boxes were a little heavy this week, which is a good thing, I hope!?

IMG_4504

So the slogan I have been using with The Farmers Wife CSA is “Bringing the Garden to your Home,” and I have been so impressed with how many of you have really been using your produce in the kitchen! I have talked with a few of you about this, but for me, I am so insistent on using the produce up each week from the garden….but when I shop at the grocery store, it is no surprise when I have to dump some of my produce each week. I understand that being part of the CSA is an investment, but I am loving that you guys are taking that to heart and really finding ways to use up all of this produce:)

If some of you are running stuck, I thought I would find a few recipes to share with you. I am not going to lie, I have not been super creative in the kitchen lately as our kitchen in our new house isn’t even unpacked yet. We don’t have doors or shelves on our kitchen cabinets, so you can imagine how hesitant I am to unpack all of my food basics and utensils with 3 almost 2 year olds running around the house! So maybe some of you can be the critics of these recipes and try them at home.

Summer Squash Gratin

Summer Squash Gratin

Zucchini and Summer Squash Fritters

Jalapeno Popper Stuffed Chicken

Tomato Pie

Tomato Pie recipe from TastesBetterFromScratch.com

Yum….I think I need to try them all:) Ok so next week will be looking quite similar as we are in the middle of the harvest season for tomatoes, peppers, etc….. I will have an updated list during the weekend. Here are some pictures of how things are looking today:)

Sweet corn should be ready in 2 weeks!? And I can’t believe we have Pie Pumpkins turning ORANGE already!?!

IMG_4505                         IMG_4506             I would love to hear all about the things you are making this week with your produce, so please share!!! Have a great weekend everyone….Hard to believe AUGUST is here….sigh:/

6 thoughts on “From the Garden to your Home

  1. The first thing I did was to make myself an AMAZING Caprese Salad for lunch on Wednesday! So excited to finally have some “real” tomatoes.

  2. Janine,
    This is Don Hunter. I forget what the large pepper is that I got yesterday but after I left I got to thinking it may be what is used commonly in chili rellenos which is one of my favorites. Please let me know what it is so I can look up a recipe unless you have one to forward on. Thank you and it was a great load this week and the above recipes sound awesome.

Leave a Reply

