A Week Off…..

Hi Everyone!

I know I have spoken with a lot of the Thursday crew about this….but after working in the garden yesterday, I am really feeling the need to hold off on harvest and pick ups for next week. While there will be a few things ready, I don’t think there will be enough to make your week worth it to pick up:/ I feel like the cooler weather the past few weeks really slowed things down…so praise God for more ¨normal¨ summer temps the past 2 days and that are forecast for next week! There are a ton of vegetables in bloom, I just think we need a little time to let them grow and I really don’t want to push anything:/

I am definitely learning a lot as the season goes on, but also realizing that I do not have control over all situations. From the really wet spring and the cool early summer nights, to our little gopher and deer friends for example. Even with these minor issues, however,  I am so thankful for the way things are looking, especially our insect situation with the use of only all natural insecticides.

IMG_3937

I sincerely apologize if this really throws any of you into a rut….If for some reason you really really really want some produce this week…get a hold of me and I can arrange to get you  some zucchini, basil, cucumbers or beans.

ALSO….for those of you who are familiar with cucumbers…they grow just as fast as zucchini does….which is super fast, and very plentiful. The cucumbers from this week will not go to waste, as I plan to whip up a batch of Bread and Butter Pickles for each of you to have with your share next week.

Here’s what I am forecasting for the week of July 19: Basil, Cilantro, Zucchini, Summer Squash, Green Pepper, Kale, Cabbage, Radishes, Eggplant, Jalapeno and Banana Peppers, Cucumbers and Green Beans. possibly: beets and lettuce

Collard Greens and Snap Peas have come to an end….but I just planted another round of peas for the fall:)

Check out the Eggplant and Cauliflower that are starting to show!!!

IMG_4011                IMG_4013

Please Please Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or concerns…thanks so much! Enjoy the day and week ahead:)

2 thoughts on “A Week Off…..

Leave a Reply

