Quick and Easy Recipe…Just the way I like ‘Em!

Good Morning!

Looks like the rain is already moving away….hooray! Looking forward to another cooler, summer day. I hope you all had a great holiday weekend!

It’s zucchini/squash season at the farm and that means long work days for the farmer. I actually will make dinner early in the morning to send with him for whenever he is able to warm it up during the day. Weird I know, but it works for us. Well, here is a quick dinner idea (made this morning)  that I thought I would share with you.

Pesto Zucchini Noodles and Chicken

In a hot pan, I start searing chicken breasts with a little oil in the pan

Then, it’s time to make your noodles. Here is a picture of the ¨noodl-er” I use…it ordered it from Amazon for less thank $10….nothing fancy. IMG_3986IMG_3985

While your chicken is still cooking, I start another pan on medium heat with a little more oil and some pesto I had left from last week. (you will have both basil and zucchini next week!) The pesto I make is very simple and versatile as well. I don’t use cheese in it since I’ve got a little guy that it doesn’t sit well with, and since I didn’t have pine nuts in the house, I used sunflower seeds. A basic pesto consists of basil, olive oil, a nut or seed and salt and pepper to taste. Blend it up and you’re good to go!

Once the oil and pesto are spread about the pan, I toss in my noodles .

IMG_3989                         IMG_3990

Sautee for just a couple of minutes until desired noodle consistency. For crunchier noodles, cook LESS time. (Like 3 minutes)

Lay your noodles on a plate, top with some chicken, add a little parmesan cheese, and there you have it!

IMG_3991

And what’s a blog post without some pictures from the farm?? This cooler weather has really been slowing the growth of some things down, but everything is definitely looking lush for July!!                                                                                                                       IMG_3937        IMG_3938                                       IMG_3942          IMG_3946                               IMG_3947        IMG_3957                                                         IMG_3962

Have a fabulous Thursday!!!

Leave a Reply

