Some New Produce on the Horizon

Good Evening!

Thanks again for another great week of share ¨pick ups¨ at the farm! I have really enjoyed getting to know some of you and getting to chat with other adults throughout the week;) I apologize in advance if the words ¨Potty¨, ¨Ouwie¨ or ¨Time Out¨ accidentally slip out of my mouth mid-conversation with you.

So, my husband and I  might eat dinner later than 9:30 pm more that I’d like to admit….but I was pretty excited about tonight’s salad that I just finished eating. The before picture was a plate of fresh veggies straight from the farm, while the finalized salad picture was topped with blueberries, strawberries and avocado. Yum! It is my goal to have an established garden that can host some perennial strawberries, but for now, these berries from DeLanges Redberry Farm will do. Blueberry season is coming soon here in Michigan too, I cannot wait!

IMG_3669            IMG_3670Something really cool I found out this week on a trip to Meijer, was that Starbucks gives out their used coffee grounds for FREE to put in your garden!! Besides smelling lovely, there are some amazing perks to adding coffee grounds to your garden. Here’s a link to learn more…especially for those of you who still enjoy having a little garden of your own.  (PS…I’m obviously out of the loop…this article was written in 2010!)       Free Coffee Grounds at Starbucks

IMG_3668

Well I suppose that you are all interested in what you can plan on for next week? Like the title suggests…there is some new, fun produce on the horizon after of couple of weeks with an abundance of greens. Here’s what you can (most likely)  plan on for next week….

zucchini, cilantro, green beans, cucumbers, a few snap peas, MORE COLLARDS, broccoli, jalapeno peppers,  and an onion or two

Your box will be pretty GREEN, but its fun to have some new options to play around with.  Tuesday folks were able to get a few beets this week, so I am hoping another batch is ready for next week so that the Thursday folks can get some as well.

IMG_3659

Ok, I know, this is a long post….but I wanted to share a few fun recipes I stumbled upon that might come in handy next week. The first one is for those of you who have had a hard time convincing your family that this produce is actually amazing and can taste good if you give it a try:)

Zucchini Brownies

Cilantro Jalapeno Dip

Zucchini Noodles with Cilantro

Crockpot Cilantro Lime Chicken

Wishing you all a blessed 4th of July holiday weekend with family and friends….. God Bless America!

Leave a Reply

