Trying something new…..Collard Wraps

Good Evening!

About a week ago I posted a picture of the collard wraps I made for dinner. Finally, I have the recipe and some tips on how to use your collards when you receive them in you first box in a couple of weeks.

Let me just start out with this…..here’s the picture of what I was thinking of making with the collards I purchased earlier in the week.

Collard-Wraps-4

(I will post the link to the recipe for this picture at the end of the post) But when you live in a house with 4 other people…it’s hard to keep track of all of the necessary ingredients you had planned on to make a certain recipe;) So when I realized there were no strawberries or cucumbers in the house, these ‘no recipe’ Ginger Chicken and Vegetable Collard Wraps were born.

IMG_2841

Heres the best recipe I can come up with …

Ginger Chicken and Vegetable Collard Wraps

Ingredients:

1. Rinse your collards and soak them in a 9×13 pan of warm water or your sink to give them some flexibility for rolling

Note: These leaves were quite flimsy, but I read that if the central stem is quite woody, you can run your knife along the stem slicing it down essentially in half lengthwise to soften the rigidity

               IMG_2839           IMG_2837

2. While the leaves are soaking, saute a couple of chicken breasts in coconut oil on the stove. While cooking, I add some pepper and a few shreds of ginger over the chicken (a few shakes of dry, ground ginger of a tsp of paste would work as well)

3. In another pan, I found all of the vegetables that I could find in my kitchen to blend together. My concoction included onions, mushrooms,  and green and red peppers. You may use olive oil if you prefer, but I love the taste of coconut oil with this gingery dish. I like to use ginger paste when working with veggies since I feel like it evenly coats them as they cook to really soak in the flavor. I saute the veggies covered, to speed up the process. About a minute or 2 before the vegetables are done, I cut my chicken breasts into small pieces and add them to the vegetables to blend all of the flavors together.

4. Since the collard leaves are quite large, you can get away with 1 leaf per wrap with a pretty generous helping of chicken and vegetables. I used about 3/4 of a cup in each. They don’t have to be pretty, just place the mixture toward one end of the leaf and roll, tucking the sides in as you go. I cut them in half and added a few more veggies between the wraps to complete the dish.

IMG_2838

IMG_2841

Enjoy with some rice on the side! Hope you love these as much as I did! Looking forward to actually using our own collards and not having to buy them!!

Stay tuned for a post on what your first pick up will look like at the farm:)

Blessings to you….have a great night!

Here is the link for the original recipe I was going to try…. http://thehealthyfoodie.com/collard-wraps/

Leave a Reply

